The impressive volunteers of the Dayton Society of Natural History generously devote their time and experience to offer direction and provide the necessary elements to help educate and mold children and adults of all ages. The multiple boards and committees focus on strategic matters and individual projects by making every effort to ultimately ensure that the purpose, plans and policies of the overall organization are achieved. With the vast knowledge and intrapersonal skills our extraordinary Board Members and teams of volunteers possess, they help ensure the success of this community’s treasured community resource.

The essential goal of the Dayton Society of Natural History is to encourage civic leadership through quality educational programs that help students and youth to see the critical link between a sound fundamental education and future employment opportunities.


The Administration of the Dayton Society of Natural History (Boonshoft Museum of Discovery) is comprised of professionals with expertise from finance to STEM Education.

Tracey Tomme, President & CEO – ttomme@boonshoftmuseum.org
Michael Westendorf, CFO – Administration@boonshoftmuseum.org

Board of Trustees

The Dayton Society of Natural History’s (DSNH) Board of Trustees is led by a distinct and dynamic group of volunteers that promote and support the ongoing programs and overarching educational initiatives of its two entities—the Boonshoft Museum of Discovery and SunWatch IndianVillage/Archaeological Park.

In conjunction with their volunteer leadership, the Board of Trustees is a non-salaried governing group responsible for long-term strategic planning activities of the Society, physical and human assets, its programs and policies, legal operations accountability and ensuring a continuity of leadership and direction over time.

2021 Board of Trustees

Chair Pat McDonald
Vice Chair Terry W. Posey, Jr.
Secretary Carissa Ross
Treasurer Cheryl Ennis

Debra A. Brathwaite
Eloise Broner
Rachel Goodspeed
Gregory A. Hoffbauer, At Large
Katie Joseph
Tim Kambitsch
Glen McMurry
Nick Niehoff
Tim Rice, Immediate Past Chair
Yasmeen Soin
​Mia Spells
Nora Stang
Michael Stemen
Jeffrey W. Stickel
Jason Trimbach
Janet Wirth, At Large

Associate Board

The Boonshoft Museum of Discovery’s Associate Board, is a dedicated talented group of community volunteers who serve as advocates and ambassadors to further the Museum’s overall mission and enhance its public image. The Associate Board assists with the coordination of the Museum’s special events and fundraisers, including the annual Boonshoft Bash and Eureka!, and has established an overarching focus to showcase the Boonshoft Museum as the unique educational venue that it is.

Thank you to all of our past and current Associate Board members for your hard work and dedication!

2021-2022 Associate Board

President Erin Davis
President-Elect Ashley Cable
Treasurer  Lindsay Maxam
Secretary  Shaun & Alison Westfall
Block Party Chair Scott & Ashley Cable

Block Party

Maneesh & Kamna Gupta
Bash Chair Graham & Ann Bailey
Bash Co-Chair Bri Trappe & Will Hayslett

Class        Member

2022          Graham & Ann Bailey
2022          Scott Cable & Ashley Cable
2022          Neil Cook & Erin Davis
2022          Sean & Elizabeth McCormick
2022          Shaun & Alison Westfall

2024          Maneesh & Kamna Gupta
2024          Nick & Lindsay Maxam
2024          Christopher Marshall & Laura Cano
2024          Bri Trappe & Will Hayslett

View Calendar

View Boonshoft Blog

Latest Updates

More Updates

  • Boonshoft Museum

    14 days ago

    Boonshoft Museum


    Happy 9th birthday Blaze! Come visit him in our Discovery Zoo! Fun fact: lorikeets performs incredibly talented ac… https://t.co/DQ4VavY74w

  • Boonshoft Museum

    15 days ago

    Boonshoft Museum


    Somethings happening in the discovery zoo... I wonder what it could be?.. #Discoveryzoo #Boonshoftmuseum https://t.co/xf2PvMOgZ1